Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Jaipur fest names committee for fiction prize

After weeks of anticipation DSC Ltd on Tuesday, March 23, announced the Advisory Committee for the recently launched DSC Prize for South Asian Literature, which now opens up the registration procedure for entries. The first winner of this prestigious US $50,000 prize will be announced in January, 2011. The prize aims to commemorate fiction writers from across the globe writing about South Asia or its people.

The Advisory Committee of the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature comprises reputed personalities from the world of literature. It represents a wide canvas of experience and a judicious mix in terms of gender, geographies and expertise. The 10-member committee includes:

    * David Godwin, publisher and literary agent (UK)
    * Lord Meghnad Desai, eminent writer and Professor Emeritus, London School of Economics (India, UK)
    * Michael Worton, Vice Provost, University College London (UK)
    * MJ Akbar, distinguished editor and author (India)
    * Nayantara Sahgal, author (India)
    * Surina Narula, businesswoman and fundraiser (NRI,UK)
    * Senath Walter Perera, specialist on Sri Lankan writing in English (Sri Lanka)
    * Tina Brown, Editor and founder of the Daily Beast (US)
    * Urvashi Butalia,  publisher and cofounder of Kali for Women (India)
    * William Dalrymple, author (UK)

Sharing his point of view, Mr Manhad Narula, Director DSC and Member of the DSC Prize Steering Committee said “The setting up of the Advisory Committee is a step forward to recognise the immense pool of talent writing about the South Asian region through the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature. We hope that our efforts will encourage new and emerging writers to showcase their work and further enrich the literary heritage of the South Asian region. We would like to thank all the eminent advisory committee members for their assistance in supporting our efforts.

On the occasion Urvashi Butalia, Member Advisory Committee, the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature said “It is a privilege to be associated with a prize which aims to recognise the contribution to South Asian literature. Apart from guiding the prize process, the key role of the Advisory Committee will be to nominate and help select the Judging Panel. We are looking forward to participation from the writers and publishers. We also believe that this prize will help in setting a benchmark for South Asian Literature.”

The judging panel will comprise persons of eminence in literature, arts and culture. The winner will be announced on the final day of the DSC Jaipur Literature Festival in January, 2011.

Full details of the Advisory Committee are available on the website www.dscprize.com. It also outlines the registration procedure whereby publishers can log on to the website and download the entry form for their entries to reach the DSC Prize Secretariat by April 24, 2010.

No comments:

Post a Comment