Saturday, March 6, 2010

Sujatha Awards for excellence in literature

The Uyirmmai Padhippagam and the Sujatha Trust together organized a commemorative function at the New Woodlands Hotel in Chennai on Saturday, February 27, the second death anniversary of Tamil literature icon Sujatha.

The meet was attended by personalities from the field of literature and cinema. Prominent names from the film industry who participated in the meet were directors Shankar, Vasanth and Rajeev Menon, Parthiban, A.Natarajan, Madhan, Indira Parthasarathy, Gnanakoothan, and lyricist Manushyaputhran.

At the function, it was announced that the Sujatha Awards for excellence in literature would be given away every year in memory of the great writer. The awards will be given away in 6 categories, namely Best compilation of short stories, Poetry, Collection of articles, Novel, Best Little Magazine and Best Website. The awards ceremony will be held on Feb. 27 every year. The award will consist of a cash prize of Rs. 10000 and a citation.

Full report here Behind Woods

No comments:

Post a Comment